Glitter Up and Get Down: The New Eoto Lotus Flower Experience is Comin to Town!
16 Feb 2012

The Author

Profile photo of Sparkleberry Contributor
Feeling inspired and want to contribute? Contact us to exercise your creative voice!

Share

This spring, Michael Travis and Jason Hann will be bringing you more than the hours of live and improvised dubstep, trance, and trip-hop we’ve all come to know and love. As of recently, EOTO unveiled their new lotus-flower stage, set-up, designed by award winning VJ, Zebbler. The idea manifested when Zebbler, received an email from EOTO’s, Michael Travis, with a drawing of a Lotus. Zebbler immediately complied, explored the opportunity, and in no time the madness behind the invention was under way.Zebbler, who is also responsible for the creation of the Shpongletron Experience, with Simon Posford, designs magic and has given EOTO fans, everywhere, the chance to see one of their favorite artists perform in the center of a three-dimensional lotus flower, surrounded by enchanting HD video and endless lighting options!

If you know EOTO then you know there’s nothing like an EOTO dance party.  It is much more than your average, computer DJ dubstep show. In fact, it is all live improvisation.  EOTO uses a fine-tuned fusion of organic and digital instruments to create their sound (bass guitar, guitar, mandolin, bongos, MacBooks and even an iPad just to name a few). One of my two favorite moments at EOTO shows were the Ludacris “Roll Out” cover at Wakarusa 2011 and a “Sexy Back” Justin Timberlake cover in early 2011 at the Orange Peel in Asheville. Just when you think the bass is too much they switch up the tempo into some sort of dreamy melody giving the audience a chance to catch their breathe from all that dub stepping.  Leaving Wakarusa 2011 my crew and I all came to the same conclusion and that was; that out of all the performances, EOTO was the wildest show of the weekend.

With over 20 upcoming tour dates, and at least six future festival appearances and one of the best live dubstep experiences around, there is no reason you shouldn’t be seeing EOTO this spring and summer!  When you add the new 17-foot lotus flower 3D design to the mix, catching EOTO at least once this year is essential, even if you’ve seen them 7+ times before (like us 🙂 !

Check out Sparkleberry Lane’s interview with Zebbler.

Upcoming Tour

Sat | 03-31-2012
Philadelphia, PA – Electric Factory w/ Shpongle

Tue | 04-03-2012
Memphis, TN – Newbys

Wed | 04-04-2012
Nashville, TN – Mercy Lounge

Thu | 04-05-2012
Chattanooga, TN – Track 29

Fri | 04-06-2012
Athens, GA – Georgia Theatre

Sat | 04-07-2012
Charleston, SC – Music Farm

Mon | 04-09-2012
Savannah, GA – Live Wire

Tue | 04-10-2012
Raleigh, NC – Lincoln Theater

Wed | 04-11-2012
Charlotte, NC – Neighborhood Theater

Thu | 04-12-2012
Asheville, NC – Orange Peel

Fri | 04-13-2012
Virginia Beach, VA – Jewish Mother

Sat | 04-14-2012
Phoenix, AZ – McDowell Mtn Music Festival

Mon | 04-16-2012
Boone, NC – Boone Saloon

Tue | 04-17-2012
Greensboro, NC – The Blind Tiger

Wed | 04-18-2012
Washington, DC – 9:30 Club w/ Shpongle

Thu | 04-19-2012
Floyd, VA – Sun Music Hall

Fri | 04-20-2012
NYC, NY – Roseland Ballroom w/ Shpongle (this may not be happening)

Sat | 04-21-2012
Live Oak, FL – Wanee Festival

Mon | 04-23-2012
Louisville, KY – Headliners

Tue | 04-24-2012
Columbus, OH – Skullys

Wed | 04-25-2012
Kent, OH – The Kent Stage

Thu | 04-26-2012
Buffalo, NY – Town Ballroom

Fri | 04-27-2012
Rockdale, TX – Nocturnal Festival

Sat | 04-28-2012
Richmond, VA – The National

Tue | 05-01-2012
Little Rock, AR – Rev Room

Wed | 05-02-2012
Birmingham, AL – Zydeco

Thu | 05-03-2012
New Orleans, LA – Republic (Jazzfest Late Night)

Sat | 05-05-2012
Dallas, TX – Dallas Museum Of Natural Art and Science

This Article was brought to you by the lovely Richard Edens. You too can contribute to Sparkleberrylane.com by contacting us at Sparkleberrylane@gmail.com! We look forward to working with you!

No comments

Fatal error: Uncaught Exception: 12: REST API is deprecated for versions v2.1 and higher (12) thrown in /home/content/84/6481784/html/wp-content/plugins/seo-facebook-comments/facebook/base_facebook.php on line 1273